you're reading...
Baltimore Ravens, Football, NFL News, NFL Rumors, NFL Talk, Oakland Raiders

Hugh Jackson to the Raiders

As we reported on RZR Mobile, Raven’s quarterback coach Hugh Jackson is reportedly close to terms with the Oakland Raiders to become their new offensive coordinator, per Michael Smith of ESPN.

Jackson worked with head coach Tom Cable at Cal State Fullerton in 1990 and at the University of California in 1996. Jackson would make the second Raider hire of someone who has previous coaching experience with Cable. Last week, the Raiders hired Mike Waufle, who also served with Cable at Cal State, to coach the defensive line.

This makes too much sense to be happening in Oakland.

Update: Jerry McDonald of the Contra Costa Times has confirmed the report.

Jackson’s statement from the Baltimore Sun:

“After much consideration I have decided to accept a position as offensive Coordinator with the Oakland Raiders. I will miss the fans here and I thank them for all the encouragement and support they have shown me while I called Baltimore my home. I’d like to extend my deepest gratitude to Steve Bisciotti, Ozzie Newsome, Dick Cass and especially Coach John Harbaugh who brought me to Baltimore. Baltimore will always hold a special place in my heart and I’m especially thankful for the opportunities I’ve had to work with a world class organization, a top notch coaching staff and some of the best talent in the league.”

More: Click here to read about Jackson’s responsibilities in Oakland.

Discussion

One thought on “Hugh Jackson to the Raiders

  1. Hire me as an offensive assistant. take a chance. i’ll coach em up. One thing i learned as coach, look at your people, never be satisfied. No matter what, the best can always be better!!!

    Posted by Steve | February 28, 2010, 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

